Last Updated on
Goodbye Google+. Today the social networking platform officially shut down but is still giving users time to backup their content. Google announced the decision to shut down the social networking application due to a bug that caused massive amounts of user data to be exposed back in October.
The application was no match for strong competitors like Facebook or Twitter. A part of the decision to shut it down was driven by low user engagement.
Backing Up Your Google + Content
You still have some time to retrieve your content from the social network.
According to Google, “We are in the process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts and Google+ pages. This process will take a few months to complete, and content may remain through this time. In the meantime, if you previously created content on Google+, you may be able to download and save your remaining Google+ content. You may also be able to view and delete your remaining Google+ activity.”
If your photos or videos are already on Google Photos, you will be able to access them there.
You can find instructions for retrieving the data here.
Learn more about Googles decision to shut down Google+ here.
Are you sad to see Google Plus go? Tell us below.